I know this is a thing on Reddit where idiot kids will circumvent ToS and subreddit rules by deleting their commment because it remains as a notification, while removing any reportable trace, but that’s not how Lenny works. Deleted comments show that a person commented but does not show they comment.
So, why is this so common?
(If this isn’t the place to ask, my apologies. I just don’t know what the right pace to ask it is if this isn’t the one. Also. I’m blocking all the clowns that think it’s funny to comment and delete.)


I habitually delete about a month back to try and reduce the number of things that taken together could ID me. I’m not a particularly unique person but I’m sure with enough comments someone could get close.
The reasoning is fair but it kinda sucks for the rest of us. Like, maybe you could roll a new account? I’m fairly certain your posts would be archived and retrievable no? Just inconvenient for regular people who don’t care who you are anyway.
I make a new accounts and dump the old one. Either abandon it or delete it.
Honestly I do both. I’m 90% sure it’s part of why I was shadow banned on Reddit (along with my use of old Reddit).
Fair point. But I’m taking about comments that are minutes to hours old. I know I didn’t mention that and should have.